joel makin greg lobban karakal squash

J.P. Tournament of Champions 2023

The first Platinum PSA squash event of the year gets underway today as the 2023 J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions returns to the iconic Grand Central Terminal, Vanderbilt Hall in New York.

The event sees 96 of the world’s best squash players competing for a share of the $360,000 USD prize pot, which is split evenly between the men’s and women’s events.

Five further venues will be used at this year’s TOC, with action also taking place at the Harvard Club of New York, New York Athletic Club, Harmonie Club, The River Club of New York and Nicol Squash Club. Action from the glass court at Grand Central Terminal will be streamed live on SQUASH.TV from round two on Thursday 19th January, with the channels of the PSA’s broadcast partners also showing action from the semi-finals onwards.

With defending champion Ali Farag injured, this is an excellent opportunity for Karakal's Greg Lobban and Joel Makin to get 2023 off to a great start. Greg faces Balazs Farkas of Hungary in today's first round, whilst Joel receives a buy, courtesy of his top ten seeding.

In the women’s draw, World No.1 and top seed Nouran Gohar will look to defend her 2022 title, but unfortunately Karakal's Tesni Evans has had to pull out of the event due to illness and will be replaced by Latvian Ineta Mackevica.

You can stay up to date with anything related to the J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions by following on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, TikTok or on the PSA website. Good luck everyone.

Women’s Draw: J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions
[1] Nouran Gohar (EGY) – [Bye]
[9/16] Olivia Fiechter (USA) – [Bye]
[17/32] Mariam Metwally (EGY) v Millie Tomlinson (ENG)
Tsz-Wing Tong (HKG) v [17/32] Sana Ibrahim (EGY)
[17/32] Nour Aboulmakarim (EGY) v Ka Yi Lee (HKG)
[9/16] Sabrina Sobhy (USA) – [Bye]
[17/32] Yathreb Adel (EGY) v Fayrouz Aboelkheir (EGY)
[6] Nour El Tayeb (EGY) – [Bye]
[8] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG) – [Bye]
[9/16] Salma Hany (EGY) – [Bye]
[17/32] Zeina Mickawy (EGY) v Jana Shiha (EGY)
Nicole Bunyan (CAN) v [17/32] Joshna Chinappa (IND)
[17/32] Satomi Watanabe (JPN) v Georgia Adderley (SCO)
[9/16] Nele Gilis (BEL) – [Bye]
[17/32] Emily Whitlock (WAL) v Marie Stephan (FRA)
[4] Joelle King (NZL) – [Bye]
[3] Hania El Hammamy (EGY) – [Bye]
Lucy Beecroft (ENG) v [17/32] Hana Ramadan (EGY)
[17/32] Tomato Ho (HKG) v Cristina Gomez (ESP)
[WC] Caroline Fouts (USA) v [17/32] Jasmine Hutton (ENG)
[9/16] Georgina Kennedy (ENG) – [Bye]
[9/16] Tinne Gilis (BEL) – [Bye]
[17/32] Alexandra Fuller (RSA) v Enora Villard (FRA)
[7] Rowan Elaraby (EGY) – [Bye]
[5] Amanda Sobhy (USA) – [Bye]
Ineta Mackevica (LAT) v [17/32] Aifa Azman (MAS)
[9/16] Hollie Naughton (CAN) – [Bye]
[9/16] Olivia Clyne (USA) – [Bye]
[17/32] Lucy Turmel (ENG) v Hana Moataz (EGY)
Grace Gear (ENG) v [17/32] Melissa Alves (FRA)
[17/32] Nadine Shahin (EGY) v [Qualifier]
[2] Nour El Sherbini (EGY) – [Bye]

Men’s Draw: J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions
[2] Mostafa Asal (EGY) – [Bye]
[WC] Dillon Huang (USA) v [17/32] Patrick Rooney (ENG)
[17/32] Shahjahan Khan (USA) v Nick Wall (ENG)
[9/16] Victor Crouin (FRA) – [Bye]
[9/16] Joel Makin (WAL) – [Bye]
[9/16] Nicolas Mueller (SUI) – [Bye]
[9/16] Gregoire Marche (FRA) – [Bye]
[5] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) – [Bye]
[7] Mazen Hesham (EGY) – [Bye]
[9/16] Saurav Ghosal (IND) – [Bye]
[17/32] Moustafa El Sirty (EGY) v Yahya Elnawasany (EGY)
Aly Abou Eleinen (EGY) v [17/32] Eain Yow Ng (MAS)
[17/32] Leonel Cardenas (MEX) v Cesar Salazar (MEX)
Henry Leung (HKG) v [17/32] Auguste Dussourd (FRA)
[9/16] Miguel Rodriguez (COL) – [Bye]
[3] Mohamed ElShorbagy (ENG) – [Bye]
[4] Diego Elias (PER) – [Bye]
Faraz Khan (USA) v [17/32] Dimitri Steinmann (SUI)
[17/32] Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY) v Lucas Serme (FRA)
Ramit Tandon (IND) v [17/32] Raphael Kandra (GER)
[9/16] Youssef Ibrahim (EGY) – [Bye]
[9/16] Youssef Soliman (EGY) – [Bye]
[17/32] Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP) v James Willstrop (ENG)
[6] Tarek Momen (EGY) – [Bye]
[8] Fares Dessouky (EGY) – [Bye]
Adrian Waller (ENG) v [17/32] Omar Mosaad (EGY)
[17/32] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) v Karim El Hammamy (EGY)
Todd Harrity (USA) v [17/32] Abdullah Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT)
[17/32] Greg Lobban (SCO) v Balazs Farkas (HUN)
[Qualifier] v [17/32] Sebastien Bonmalais (FRA)
[17/32] Baptiste Masotti (FRA) v Nathan Lake (ENG)
[1] Paul Coll (NZL) – [Bye]

Back to blog